IMAGE BY: Ricardo Vasquez SOURCE: FreeImages.com

Progress Report for February 2017 – 24 books read!

Month: February, 2017
Number of Books Required: 28
Number of Books Read: 24
Number of Books Left to Read: 299


Favorite Book: Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success by Adam Grant

I’m still thinking about Give and Take even now, and that’s the mark of a good book to me. I really enjoyed this non-fiction sociology book about the benefits of being a giver in our society, and its ideas have stuck with me as I’ve seen applications in my own life.

A few other favorites included  The Contract With God Trilogy, O Pioneers!, Seconds, The Last Unicorn and the two March graphic novels.


Least-Favorite Book: The Coen Brothers, Second Edition, by Ronald Bergen

Flying to Salt Lake City at the end of this month, I had a chance to watch Hail, Caesar! on the plane. It’s the newest Coen Brothers film, and it was so much more enjoyable than reading this book about the Coens. Lesson learned – don’t read books about film directors. Just watch their films.

The only other book I genuinely disliked was Why Photographs Work: 52 Great Images Who Made Them, What Makes Them Special and Why. It wasn’t terrible, just boring.


Biggest Surprise: The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage: The (Mostly) True Story of the First Computer by Sydney Padua

My wife has also been reading this crazy book, and I laugh out loud every time I see it lying open. I’ve never read anything like this graphic novel; it displays such a love for its oddball characters that it’s impossible not to be awed by its depth, complexity and attention to detail. And yet it’s also supremely readable and very fun to flip through. I plan to buy a copy for myself and for my brother (who works in Silicon Valley).

I was also surprised by Nimona, a book I probably wouldn’t have picked up during a normal year because I was initially put off by its art style. But it was really good, and I recommend it!


Other thoughts: I slowed down my reading due to travel and attending a conference, and the result is that my lead in January is now eroding away. I’ll have to pick up the pace in March to keep from getting behind!

I also have a number of books to finish sitting around my house. I’d better get started!

 

Leave a Reply

